Greenland Police

Greenland Police

Contact us

Greenland Police
Imaneq 22
3900 Nuuk
Post Office box 1006

Tel.: (+299) 70 14 48

Office hours
Monday to Friday: 8:00 – 16:00
(There is a four-hour time difference between Greenland and Denmark)

About the Greenland Police prosecution service

Greenland has a single police district covering its four local authority districts: Qaasuitsup, Qeqqata, Kujalleq and Sermersooq.

The Greenland Police is divided into four regions (corresponding to the division into local authorities), with headquarters in Nuuk, Ilulissat, Sisimiut, and Qaqortoq. In addition, there are 14 local police stations in the four regions. The prosecution service (Legal Column) is located at the Greenland Police headquarters in Nuuk and conducts criminal proceedings before the Greenland High Court and the Court of Greenland, also located in Nuuk.

The Legal Column of the Greenland Police has around 9 staff members. Unlike the Danish police districts, the Greenland Police district is not organised in three prosecution divisions. Instead, all staff broadly undertake the tasks for which the prosecution service is responsible. Therefore, the legal consultants working in the column are in close contact with upper management as well as the rest of the organisation, which gives staff great insight into the overall work and operation of the police district.